Why I Changed My Major

I came to the University of South Alabama thinking I wanted to be a neonatal nurse. My major from the start was nursing and I was so sure at first that was what I would do with my life. Once I started college and started going to my classes I realized really fast that I wasn’t doing that for me. I was doing it for my parents. I was doing it for the money. I was doing it because everyone else was doing it. That wasn’t me. When I realized that my grades wouldn’t allow me to get into nursing school as soon as I had planned, I got discouraged quick. What was I going to do? Not graduating in four years wasn’t an option for me. I had a come to Jesus meeting with myself and thought really hard about what I wanted to do and what made me happy. Being a nurse wasn’t it. Telling my parents I was changing my major was so scary for me. I was scared to disappoint the two people who had given me everything. I changed my major the same week to Strategic Communications (Public Relations). That was me. I’ve worked in retail all through high school and I’m a people person. I’m creative in my own way and changing my major helped me see that I could express myself in my future career. I realized what I wanted to do and being a communications major helped me see that school can be enjoyable. I am at the point now where I actually enjoy go to my classes and learning things that will help me be successful in my career. I encourage everybody to pursue your dreams for you. Not for anybody else because at the end of the day, it’s your life.

One thought on “Why I Changed My Major

Leave a Reply

